OL+OPT!

28 09 2011

”To live is to choose. But to choose well, you must know who you are and what you stand for, where you want to go and why you want to get there.”

– Kofi Annan –


Technique tips always welcome…

12.30pm, WOD Part 1

A. WU-series, 2*2 Long Clean Pulls + 2 Front Squats + 2 Clean Sotts @ 20kg

B. Clean Segment Pull + Clean Pull, 3 sets a 2 * (1+1):
102kg, 111, 120
C. Clean & Jerk, 3*1 + 3 @ 60%, 70kg:
1, 1, 1, 3 (PC & PJ).
D. Snatch Balance, 3*3:
43kg, 52, 61

2,5h rest

3.30pm, WOD Part 2, Conditioning from OPT:

E. 3 Rounds with 3-5 walk rest in between:

  • 5 MU
  • 5 HSPU
  • 10 Heavy KBS, 32kg
  • 10 Box Jumps Mid Thigh, used 80 (about 5cm to high)
  • 15 DU
  • 15 Cals Row
Times: 2’36min, 2’33, 3’18

F. All Out Effort, 1 Round:

  • 10 Burpees AQAP
  • 25 Double Unders
  • 10 Burpees AQAP
  • 25 Cals Row
Time: 1’55min

OL felt ok today, quite explosive and fast. Don’t understand why my cleans has felt so off lately when these weights feel so ”light” in pulls. Snatch Balance I tried a tip from Neil to try to get on my toes. Felt way better getting down, but still using my hip to push press it a bit, even at the lighter weights. Practice, practice, practice I guess…

Was suppose to do Blair’s OTM 3 reps Back Squats at 80% today, but feeling that familiar pinch in my left lower back that I had before my back injury last year. That kept me out of squatting anything at all for almost 6 months, so think I did right to postpone it til Saturday. Besides, it will be nice to be able to walk like a human during Thursday & Friday classes. Have also planned a ”no weights week” after next weeks training to avoid any of the small pains I have here and there becoming more serious injuries.

OPT’s conditioning was something I choose to do last minute, so mr. Annan, if I tell you that I want to become a Games athlete next year, was this the right choice?
Felt like it was a damn hard choice anyway, and we like those. Missed the last MU on the 3rd round, twice(!), which is why it was so slow. Happy to be able to do them at all after yesterday’s pulling session and other than that it was pretty much UB all through, but I should have gone with a lower box, that was what slowed me down the most. Row sucked as always.
Sprint was dreadful. Don’t think I can go faster anywhere and those 55-ish seconds on the row made me hate my self, hence the aggro attack after the wod in the video..😉

All in all a good day. Conditioning is coming a long, even though I could see at the posted scores at OPT that I have a looong way to go. Which made me think, maybe I should get back there soon. He is a very potent programmer, his followers obviously get very good results and I need to stop cherrypicking. Two problems though: I don’t have an airdyne, which he programs A LOT, I need more focus on the OL than he is currently programming. Maybe a combination could work here? Maybe I could try to use the Cathletics positioning cycle as I do now and mix it with OPT’s conditioning, scaling volume wisely to avoid over training..?

Might be on to something here, will think it over the next couple of days and still be following what I’ve set out to do for this week.

Namaste!

 


Åtgärder

Information

3 responses

29 09 2011
Marcus Herou

25 kcal? Äh de är ju bara 200m🙂

29 09 2011
Dave

Syns direkt när din rygg bråkar, då kan du inte stabilisera och låsa den samt du lyfter mer med ryggen istället för med benen.

Gillade finishern, den hade varit kul som 3 RFT med ca 60s vila eller så mellan varje!

29 09 2011
YogamanChris

Mmm, jag vet. Men lyften kändes ok ändå och ingen direkt smärta då. Känns oxå mkt bättre idag så tror att det var bra att inte böja igår!
Hehe, dude vette fan om jag hade gillat 3rft. Och då hade man nog aldrig mentalt orkat maxa 100% på rodden?

Kommentera

