Sir Squat a Lot!

11 05 2011

””Well,” said Pooh, ”what I like best,” and then he had to stop and think.  Because although Eating Honey was a very good thing to do, there was a moment just before you began to eat it which was better than when you were, but he didn’t know what it was called.”  

– A.A. Milne –

10 am, WOD Part 1, Technique & Strength

A. WU/Technique – 2-pos Power Snatch@43kg, (between cones to avoid broad landings) – DONE!
Immediately after:
B. Within 7 mins, establish Power Snatch Max for Day:
52kg/1, 61/1, 70/1, 75/F, 75/F
C. Strength: Front Squats, 3-2-1-1-1:
111/3, 120/2, 131/1 PB!, 134/PB! (+4kg), 138/F
D1. Assistance Work: Snatch Balance 3*10 @ 43kg (between cones)
D2. Strict Bar Series * 2
5 Pronated Pull Ups to neck, 5 Supinated to Chest, 5 Leg Raises

E. Back Squats, 20 reps @ 111kg – DONE!

2,5h later

2.30 pm, WOD Part 2, Conditioning

F. 7 Rounds For Time:

  • 10 Push Ups
  • 10 Walking Lunges
  • 250m Row
Time: 11’09 min

G. Tabata GHD & Ab-Mat Sit Ups:
GHD: 10/11/10/10, Mat: 12/12/10/11 

Ouff, ok first of all not even I had planned to have all this work in one day. Squats was meant to be yesterday but I woke up feeling hit by a train so decided to take an extra rest day and try to squeeze it together today. Went ok. The cones for feet placement actually felt really good, I always broaden my feet a lot with heavier weight. I still do pull with my arms, very visible in the video, and with heavier weights just about everything feels awkward..

Front Squats felt good as always. 20 Repper Back Squat, not so good. At 5 reps I thought 10 ”might be doable”, glad I didn’t give up!

Was expecting the metcon to be way harder. Did this before with only 5 PshU’s a round but not after this kind of squat heavy day, was expecting the same cramps as I had with Hell-in, but not at all actually. Saved my legs by pulling only with my arms last 50m of each row in the beginning and I actually felt strong all the way through. That said, I was hoping for better. Last time was three months ago and 11’07 mins then with just 35 reps less should have been improved by now. Still happy that I was pretty consistent and very tired at the end.
Was meant to be a full Tabata GHD, but my hip flexors felt completely spent and I know that that usually leads to lower back pain for me so went to the floor, which was worse! Abs was cramping like crazy all of a sudden so I’m guessing I’ll be feeling this for a couple of days…

Rest day tomorrow again and then on to some more Olympic Lifting Friday & Saturday. So far my shoulder, elbows and lower back holds up pretty well, (knock on wood), so hopefully I will be able to put a lot of this kind of training in over the coming weeks and fixing all the problems I’m having with it.

PS. Every piece of advice you guys are giving me is highly appreciated, I actually write them all down in my notebook and try to go through them before each session!😉

Namaste! 


Åtgärder

Information

11 responses

13 05 2011
Marcus Herou

Grattis till FS! Nu är du om och förbi mig din gris

Vet du vad? Du börjar likna Jernberg dvs din styrka ökar som fan! Däremot explosiviteten ökar inte alls i samma takt. Jag kan inte fatta varför men det syns klart och tydligt i dina för övrigt fina Power Snatches. För långsamt helt enkelt. Blir också tydligt i SB när du inte trycker på uppåt.

Några naturliga tänkbara moment för att förbättra detta.
Sprintstarter
Hoppa hög låda / vertical jumps
Clean Pulls

Kolla in denna lista (DeFranco är grym)
http://www.defrancostraining.com/articles/38-articles/53-top-15-exercises-for-higher-vertical-jumps.html

13 05 2011
Yogaman

Thx!
Tror att det har att göra med två saker:
1. Axelskadan har hindrat mig från att göra tillräckligt med OL och därmed mindre explosivitet.
2. 5by5 programmet har gjort mig mkt starkare. MEN, det är så klart inte lika explosiv träning som vid 1-5RM träning!

Grym lista, ska plocka in en hel del direkt!🙂

13 05 2011
Marcus Herou

Yep bra ide att spänsta lite nu. Dra ner på styrkan nu, OLy räcker gott och väl eller kliv in i ettormas värld🙂

13 05 2011
Yogaman

Mmm, det är ganska mkt hela tanken nu!😛

12 05 2011
Dave

Jag gillar den varianten,fast utan att stå på tå. Det blir lätt att man pushpressar för mycket om man kör vanliga SB.

12 05 2011
Ellie

I *love* this quote. I used it in one of our morning meetings at work last year.

Re: being afraid to smash yourself, read this:
http://www.daiglebreathesfire.com/2011/05/art-of-win.html

It goes on for a bit too long but I think it may help. I was trying to figure out the difference between that WOD I smashed the other day (with the burpees and kb swings) and Sandy Helen which hurt the first time and scared the crap out of me so much that I didn’t go very hard the second time. Daigle nailed it.

But I will say … easier said than done. I just emerged from a rough 2 months at work and how I made the switch … I have no damn clue. I guess that’s the next step.

11 05 2011
Dave

Haha e du rolig eller, det där passet är väldigt likt mitt pass imorgon🙂

Teknikrycken såg bra ut, du fick till legdriven bra på dem, vilket gjorde att du inte hoppade framåt. Varför behöll du inte konerna på maxrycket?😉

Däremot glömde du bort legdriven igen på SB som du ser.

Grattis till din FS, det får bli min drömgräns för i år!

11 05 2011
Yogaman

Genier tänka lika osv..😉
Funderar seriöst på att behålla konerna på maxlyft nästa vecka, tror jag kan trigga nåt där. Fast då börjar jag väl missa på tävling om jag inte tar dem med mig.
Jag ska lägga in en till cykel 1+1/4 squats så småningom och då ska FS upp till 150! =)

11 05 2011
Yogaman

Förresten, legdrive på SB?
Jag tyckte jag använde benen för mkt och vill helst ”falla” ner under stången mer?

12 05 2011
Dave

Det jag menar med legdrive är rörelsemönstret, nu skickar du upp vikten samtidigt som du skuttar framåt, just för att du inte använder dig av legdriven som skulle göra att du hoppade rakt upp.
Sen behöver man ju inte ta i sig mycket i legdriven för att göra som du säger att pressa sig under.
Nu är jag sådär luddig igen, men jag hoppas du hajar vad jag menar🙂

12 05 2011
Yogaman

Jag tror jag förstår. Vad tror du om att köra SB från tå-stående med utlåsta knän? Har provat med stång och det känns rätt bra faktiskt!

Kommentera

