Better Balanced Athlete?

18 04 2011

”Many of us crucify ourselves between two thieves – regret of the past and fear of the future.”

– Fulton Oursler –

10.30 am, WOD Part 1

A. Technique, 5 rounds on ze minute of 3 Pos-Clean & 1 Split Jerk @ 70kg
High Hang Clean, Hang Clean, Power Clean & Split Jerk

B. 5*5 Power Clean @ 93 kg

C. Power Clean & Split Jerk @ 84 kg, 5-4-3-3-3

Maybe 70 kg was a bit heavy for the ”technique” part, felt quite good during but tired after. Wasn’t even close to getting 93 on my third lift and just knew that if I would keep on trying each set would take me forever, and be butt ugly. Not saying 84 was super good looking either, but at least I could handle that weight. Each round took me about 1-1’15 mins so not exactly touch n go..

4h rest

4.30 pm, WOD Part 2 – 3 * 6 min amraps:

  • 5 Wall Walks/Climbs
    Start and end in a push up with the feet against the wall, top position is hands as close as possible with the nose touching the wall. 
  • 10 Burpee Box Jumps

D. Score: 2 rounds + 2 Wall Walks

Rest Exactly 3 mins

  • 7/7 Alternating TTB/CTB
  • 14 Ring Push Ups
E. Score: 3 rounds
Rest Exactly 3 mins
  • 250m Row
  • 3/3 Alternating KB-Snatches @ 32kg
Score: 3 Rounds
Wanted to try this concept of metcons for a while and I loved it. Chose quite technique craving exercises today to get a little more of ”allround efforts” into the mix and on the first two it was definitely muscle fatigue that got me, first on the Wall Walks that are way harder than they look and secondly when I already during the second round of E. had to break up the TTB/CTBs due to lack of control.
Last couplet was more of a conditioning Q, even if I liked that i forced my self to switch hand for each rep. Basically made me do 1 & 1/2 swing per rep.
So what about the ”Balanced Athlete” business? Well, first of all I’m obviously referring to me putting more of skill efforts in there, but today I also tried some new stuff in my warm up from T-Nation. Very fun and I will definitely use these regularly. Can’t really say I was as Ninja like as the dude in the videos, especially not on the last one, but hey practice makes perfect.
On another warm up note, I really have to cut my WU’s down. Almost taking me an hour with all the mobility and other stuff I’m having in there atm. Must be more efficient…
Namaste!

Åtgärder

Information

Kommentera

