PB, But not what I was hoping for…

17 01 2011

For everything you have missed, you have gained something else, and for everything you gain, you lose something else.


– Ralph Waldo Emerson

10 am-WoD

Back Squats, 5-5-3-3-1-1-1:
111kg/5, 120/5, 125/3, 134/3 PB!, 143/1, 152/F, 152/1

Have I gotten weaker with my Strenght Bias programme?? No, I hope not and I don’t think so. Just being clumsily eager today when aiming too high with the weights leading up to my 1RM-attempts. Felt pretty beat after the 3 reps at 134 already, so think it would have been way smarter to use the 5’s and 3’s as a warmup..
Depth is pretty good on most reps now, however I am experiencing that the 90-degree sticking point is way heavier than I want it to be. Think my next period will be turned around to adress that, meaning I will be doing 1+1/4 Back Squats and regular straight reps for the Front Squat, any thoughts about that?

Not too bummed out about this, as the quote says, you have to learn something from your failures to be able to turn them into successes and that’s excactly what I plan to do with this.

In a few hours I will get a chance to redeem my self today already. Cape CrossFit’s ”Graceful Cindy”-Challenge is up for grabs and I plan to smoke it tonight!

Namaste!


Åtgärder

Information

4 responses

17 01 2011
David

+1 på Marcus samt att du har ju inte kört så många singlar udner programmet? Bara att du har ökat ditt 3RM säger ju en del och dessutom utan ryggen säger ifrån?
Jag gillar inte att du kör 3 reps på typ mitt 1RM🙂

18 01 2011
Yogaman

Sant, inga singlar alls det är själva tanken, 5*3/3*5 reps för att bygga styrka så sant att man kanske inte ska förvänta sig för mkt i singlarna.
Jag gillar inte heller att jag kör 3 reps på den vikten, borde va minst 5 om du frågar mig..😉

17 01 2011
Marcus Herou

Yup. Too eager. However one should not be totally 100% that a strength biased programme always work as expected. Sometimes you followed the programme too strict, sometimes too unstrict, sometimes you should not have followed the programme doing 3’s but instead lower the weight and do 6’s. Sometimes you should have been doing 2’s instead of the 5’s, sometimes you should not stop with 3 x 5 but ad some heavy lifts, did you do the programme at the same time every time ? It goes on and on…

During the summer Eric Ericson followed a programme similar to Russian Squat Routine and gained about 7kg in 7-8 weeks. Me and Eric both had 140 before but I did Squats only once a week and finished at 155kg😉

However what you do not know is if this setup gives you a PR instead in 4 weeks. The body is strange and may not give you a PR just because you demand it today😉

17 01 2011
Yogaman

My maaan! You are turning in to quite the philosopher here Marcus, I like it!
Funny thing is that the reason why Im not so disappointed about this is that what you are describing is virtually my excact thoughts about it…
160 in four weeks it is!😉

Kommentera

