5 is the magic number!

3 08 2010

Today, almost everything in my programming was, or were meant to be, about the number of:

Yogaman’s WOD @ Cape CrossFit:

A. Wendler 5/5/5+ for Weighted Pull Ups (supinated shoulder wide grip, chin breaking vertical plane):
37,5kg (2 weight vests + a couple of plates in my pockets)/4(!)
33kg (1 wv + 15kg dumb)/5
36kg (2 wv)/3…
B. ”Buy-out” – 20 Strict Pull Ups (pronated ”regular” grip): 10 CTB (7/3), 10 Chin over vertical plane

Rest and Foamroll 30 min

C. 2 Rounds, not for time, of:

  • 1 L-sit Rope Climb, 3m
  • 5 Muscle Ups
  • 25 GHD-Sit Ups
  • 125 Double Unders

(Do you see any pattern here? ;))

Messed up big time when I calculated my weights for this excersice. Used my actual 1RM of 51kg wich also was done with a slight kip and not covp-style either. Tried to adjust to 80% (40kg) for the last two sets, but then I was already smoked. Probably didn’t help that I went for the ”easy” way on the last set wich was 2kg too heavy, but I like the vests.. Revenge on this excersice next week!
Never done strict CTB-PU before, first 6 felt sooo easy, 7th I almost missed. The rest was nothing but war against that f*cking bar.

After resting, timing Roland & Wayne for their metcon and discovering that I can stand on my head(!) it was conditioning time. Let me just say that I think that of course there should be five rounds of this one. However, if I would have tried I would still be struggling with that rope and those MU’s. It’s not easy to do them straight after a rope climb I’m telling you. Actually missed a couple on the second round. GHD done deliberately slow to not stress my lower back too much. Double Unders broken approx 3 times per set.

Since I’m a sucker for volume I decided to try my new ”ability” and did the following as a finisher:

3 Rounds of:

Head Stand from Frog Stand: 31s/33/33
3 Skin the cat plus tucked front lever

I read on Jon’s Blog about how to work up to a free hand stand, when he linked to this article, and that is something I really want to be able to do. Started out easy today but still felt pretty smashed all over afterwards.

I actually just got both my arms cramping when I was shredding garlic for my dinner, perhaps all this pulling has something to do with it? Dinner by the way! Dinner for champions looks like and spells like this:

Who needs a plate?

  • 800g Chicken Breast (with bones),
  • 2 tbsp Olive Oil
  • 1 tbsp Soy Sauce
  • A lot of Garlic
  • A lot of Tabasco
    Marinate the chicken with the above and cook in the oven for 45-50 min (last 15 min on ”grill” makes good perfect).
  • 200g English Spinach
  • 100g Kalamata Olives
  • 1/2 Red Onion
  • 1 Tomato
    Make a salad of the above…
  • Serve with a big glass of red wine and 5g of fish oil!

PS. I will buy a big icecream to the first one who guesses why I chose to put weighted pull ups (with a supinated, quite narrow grip with chin breaking vertical as a rule), in my Wendler programme!😉

Namaste!


Åtgärder

Information

4 responses

8 08 2010
Kerry

OK, could not read Jon’s blog for obvious linguistical reasons, but the link to the freestanding handstand article is pure gold! Thank you! I dream of handstands and though I feel like I’m going backward in my drive to do pullups, I’m super psyched about my progression on handstand pushups.

Though I like what you note in other entries about being good at the ”pressing” exercises and needing to improve your ”pulling”. I have the same issue, and realize that I’m starting to play to my strengths in my mental approach to my workouts and getting a bit too unbalanced. I will speak to the dynamic duo about this, but super helpful to read your experiences. Keep the good stuff coming!

8 08 2010
Yogaman

Haha, just do what Roland did and use Google Translate! He then told me to put the mat where I was about to GET SMALLER, kind of.😀
Hand Stands is FUN, just damn hard. I think it’s just a matter of cycles in the beginning, sometimes you’ll see improvements in the pressing and sometimes in the pulling. Just do a little extra pullup practice a couple of times a week after class and I’m sure you will have it very soon!

3 08 2010
Dave

Bättre överföring till strikta MU’s kanske?🙂 Ett tips för wendler 90% för viktade PU, räkna på BW+vikten du hänger på då kommer det stämma bättre.

3 08 2010
Yogaman

Sluta va så jävla smart, but ok the Icecream is yours…😉
The transitition is my weakest part in the MU, wich Im trying to get with these!
Bra ide med hela vikten, fan va jag är trög ibland…

Kommentera

