Therapy for an Idiot

23 07 2010

Sometimes I actually think that I’m a smart guy.
Sometimes I relize I’m not…

Karate Kid..?

Yesterday was my rest day and I also decided to make it a cheat day to give my body as much building stones as possible to recover 100% and to be full of energy today. Maybe potato chips and bread wasn’t the smartest building stones to add to my Paleo Diet though…

Remember my rule about burpees for whining? Think I’m gonna earn my self a few today.
Woke up this morning feeling a bit sick, sore throat and runny nose, wich I usually do when I get too much sugar. Also, my body didn’t feel like the machine I was expecting. Instead, I was sore allover with really tight upper quadriceps and hipflexors, my lower back was aching again and my shoulders felt like they belonged to Quasimodo

Anyway, plan today was to go for a new PB in Snatch and C&J. So after a long warm up and a lot of foam rolling I started working up the weights with the Snatch. This is what happened @ 52kg…

”Snatch 101”


Luckily enough I chilled the sprained thumb with cold water and it didn’t swell too much. However, I tried and got a lift at 60kg as well, but I had to really force my thumb into the hook grip and it hurt like @&#^*#^!!

But, you know what they say: Everything happens for a reason..

I did feel a little bit weird walking in the gym today and honestly I wasn’t in the right mood for PBs anyway, I’ll get them next week instead. Arranged another WOD and it actually turned out to feel really good!

Yogaman’s Therapeutic Triplet, 5 rounds:

  • 5 Back Squats @ 32X1, 84kg, 93, 102, 102, 111
  • 5 Box Jumps: 80cm, 90, 96, 100, 106
  • 3 Skin the cat + Front lever attempts

I haven’t Squatted heavy since I hurt my back a few months ago. Really wanted to see if I could go deep enough without the back hurting and actually think my technique was better than ever! Kept it at a depth where I could stay away from ”buttwinks” and that was just about parallell, but I felt really strong in the bottom position, (no where near max in any lift), and my knees stayed turned out all the time wich wasn’t the case before my injury. Thank you Roland!
Box Jumps was really fun, never tried this high before, and actually a little scary at the last round. Ring work only to improve mobility but also I learned that I need to get much stronger in my midsection if I wanna be good at this, my levers was a joke..

At the end of the day: If God gives you lemons, make lemonade!



Åtgärder

Information

2 responses

24 07 2010
Dave

Hajade ingetting tills du tog det i slowmotion. Hoppas det går över snart! Tror på det du sa, det var ingen dag förPRs! Hde väl slutat med att du hade missat 70kg snatch och satsat på 75kg istället🙂

24 07 2010
Yogaman

Haha, jag vet det var så larvigt kändes typ som att bli biten av en orm, det bara stack till. Idag är den dubbelt så stor och med ungefär 20% rörlighet, blir skoj med massa pullups..

Kommentera

